Avast! Me Maties

Yes, I am longing for Talk Like a Pirate Day but that’s not what this post is about. No, this post is about something much more serious – computer viruses.

We all know about the threat of computer viruses but are you really protected? I run across many folks who have no protection whatsoever. Let me tell you something, if you are running an unprotected Windows machine that connects to the Internet then you probably already have some type of virus. It’s not that other operating systems can’t get a virus, just that it is much more likely for Windows machines. Why? Two reasons:

  1. Windows is the most popular operating system on the planet so nearly 100% of the scumbags who create these viruses target Windows machines.
  2. Windows has security holes in it that you could drive a truck through.

I know what you are thinking, “If Windows has so many security holes why is it the most popular OS on the planet?” Good question – my official answer is, “I have no freaking idea!”.

At this point you might expect me to suggest that everyone with a Windows machine immediately protect themselves by using one of the 800 pound gorillas of the anti-virus market: Norton Anti-Virus or McAfee Anti-Virus. Well, that isn’t going to happen and I’m happy to tell you why. These two products suck (professionally speaking) and are, in my opinion, not much better that actually having a virus. Both of these products are huge CPU hogs that will leave you with precious little of the computing resources you own.

So what’s a poor defenseless Windows user to to do? Never fear, I’m going to tell you about the best kept secret in anti virus software, Avast! Version 4 Home Edition. Now you see the clever tie in with the post subject, right? I’m so cool!

If you are running a Windows machine please check out Avast!. It uses very little resources (you’ll hardly know it’s there), works like a charm at protecting your machine, and the home edition is absolutely FREE. That’s right, free. All you have to do is register with Avast! once a year to receive a key to unlock the software.

I’ve been using Avast! on my Windows machines for several years now and I’m completely happy with the product.

One Response to Avast! Me Maties

  1. icedmocha says:

    Thanks very much for this info. I use a Mac, but I’m going to pass it along to my son.

Leave a Reply

